World Twenty20 2016: Scotland & Ireland set for group stage in India

World Twenty20 2016: Scotland & Ireland set for group stage in India

Sri Lanka celebrate winning the World Twenty20 in 2014

The World Twenty20 starts in India on Tuesday, with Scotland and Ireland among eight teams aiming to qualify for the main stage of the competition.

Scotland face Afghanistan in Nagpur on the opening day, while Ireland begin their campaign against Oman in Dharamsala on Wednesday.

The winners of each of the two groups will book a place in the Super 10 phase, beginning on 15 March.

England play Sri Lanka in Mumbai in their first match on 16 March.
In total, 58 matches will be played across eight venues over four weeks, in the sixth edition of the tournament since its inception nine years ago.

England – winners of the competition in 2010 – have been drawn in the same group as defending champions Sri Lanka, 2012 winners West Indies and South Africa, who are second in the International Cricket Council T20 rankings.

Australia are chasing a fourth successive triumph in the women’s event, which starts on 15 March and features 10 teams.
England, who won the inaugural Women’s World T20 in 2009, are in a group containing India, West Indies, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

The women’s final will be played before the men’s final in Mumbai on 3 April. BBC

Follow us on Twitter on @FingazLive and on Facebook – The Financial Gazette

Connect With Us

Fingaz Polls

Should all Commuter Omnibuss be moved to designated areas?