Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Serena Williams and Roger Federer headline Miami Open field

Roger Federer and Serena Williams have won a combined 43 Grand Slam singles titles.

Roger Federer and Serena Williams are expected to be two of the top draws at this year’s Miami Open. The field, announced this week, will include 19 players who have combined to win 108 career Grand Slam singles titles.

Hard Rock Stadium debuts as the venue for the tournament, which runs March 18-31. Previously, the event was held at Crandon Park in Key Biscayne.

Federer and No. 1 ranked Novak Djokovic head up the men’s field with Rafael Nadal, Juan Martin del Potro and reigning Miami Open champion John Isner joining.

Naomi Osaka, winner of the past two Grand Slam singles titles and a resident of Boca Raton, defeated Williams during the first round of last year’s tournament and will aim to build off her previous success.

Osaka and Williams, a resident of Palm Beach Gardens, highlight the women’s field, which will also feature Maria Sharapova, Venus Williams and Miami Open defending champion Sloane Stephens, a Fort Lauderdale resident.

Qualifying rounds are set for the first two days and will determine the additional 12 slots in each of the singles draws. The women’s main draw will begin on March 19 followed by the men’s main draw on March 20.

The Miami Open is a mandatory event for the top players on the ATP and WTA Tours unless they meet specific criteria or are injured. Criteria includes the number of tournament appearances or Grand Slam victories, which applies to a small number of players.-